Reviews

Book review: Clockwork Angel

 

29356046In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

Author: Cassandra Clare
Page count: 486 pages
Release date: August 31st 2010

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 4 stars

Hello everyone,

I had promised this review a looong time ago. Here it finally is! Besides, this book is the first in a long time with a rating higher than 3 stars.

Clockwork Angel somehow reminds me a little of City of Bones. Both books start off a bit…boring? I guess. It took quite long for the action to arrive. In a way it is understandable, you don’t know the characters yet, you need to know how everything looks and stuff like that. In my opinion, all of that was a little too long.

“Remember when you tried to convince me to feed a poultry pie to the mallards in the park to see if you could breed a race of cannibal ducks?” 

“They ate it too,” Will reminisced. “Bloodthirsty little beasts. Never trust a duck.” 

Actually that literally is the only ‘bad’ thing I can recall about this book. The characters are amazing, very human and especially they’re not a case of copy paste.

The writing is amazing like Clare’s other books. I especially loved the usage of fancy English in this book. I usually have a hard time imagining the surroundings when it does not find place in the present (or future, because surprisingly I don’t have any trouble with that)

“Will smiled the way Lucifer might have smiled, moments before he fell from Heaven.” 

Another thing I especially liked was that you could notice something was wrong with a certain character, yet they left you guessing for a while until it really became a mystery, a mystery I really wanted to solve. There definitely are some plottwists.

Honestly, I have nothing else to say about this book. I loved it and I’m definitely looking forward to reading the sequels. I already have heard that the other books are better in this trilogy. That makes me even more excited because I absolutely disliked City of Bones, but I fell so hard in love with City of Glass. Now this book is already pretty good, but imagine the other books if they are indeed even better!

Have you read this book? If so let me know your thoughts down below in the comments!

Love,
Sharon

 

4 thoughts on “Book review: Clockwork Angel

Leave a Reply

