Reviews

Bookreview: Sinner

25928143found.
Cole St. Clair has come to California for one reason: to get Isabel Culpeper back. She fled from his damaged, drained life, and damaged and drained it even more. He doesn’t just want her. He needs her.

lost.
Isabel is trying to build herself a life in Los Angeles. It’s not really working. She can play the game as well as all the other fakes…but what’s the point? What is there to win?

sinner.
Cole and Isabel share a past that never seemed to have a future. They have the power to save each other and the power to tear each other apart. The only thing for certain is that they cannot let go.

Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Page count: 357 pages
Release date: July 1st 2016

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 2 staRS

First off I’m sorry for the massive gap? I have no clue why it is there or how to make it disappear. Now on to the book!

Sinner. You have disappointed me so much. Why. Shiver has been my favourite book for yeaaars (Linger and forever were okay). I was 14 I think when that love started and honestly Shiver has been on my shelf for two years now waiting for a re-read. Sinner made me scared to reread it mainly because I don’t want my love to be taken away from me! Now why do I dislike this book so much? Well let me tell you.

First off, the characters. Both Cole and Isabel are not likeable. Isabel hates literally everything. She always seems moody and very negative overall. It felt as if she even drained all of my happy thoughts. Rude, negative and plain mean are the words I will describe her with.

“My good mood felt like an endangered species.”

Then Cole, he was more likeable, yet not enough. He was a dick. Not always though, he had a little character development and he was a more round character than Isabel. Oh and he’s also very negative and unhappy. If both of the main characters are mainly negative, angry and mean the book immediately takes the same form. Unfortunately. No this is not how I remembered him from Forever.

The second thing I truly disliked was the plot. There didn’t seem to be a plot. 357 and if I look back on what exactly happened that felt important….I can’t even name a single thing. Another thing I truly missed were the wolves. I loved the wolves. Werewolves with a creative twist. They barely were in this book. It felt like a normal contemporary book, not like something supernatural.

“It’s not about the landing. It’s about the flying.”

Last but definitely not least, the romance. I felt no chemistry between Cola and Isabel. They didn’t seem to fit with each other. Their scenes felt forced and didn’t really seem like an healthy relationship. Even as a romance this book would not be good.

I’m so sorry Maggie. I truly love your works but I’m going to pretend that this one does not exist. For now I will return to Shiver and I recommend everyone to do the same.

Have you read this book? If so, what are your opinions? Let me know in the comments!

Love,
Sharon

 

5 thoughts on “Bookreview: Sinner

  1. I’ve been looking through your blog and I absolutely love the style of it! What theme are you using? Also great post, it’d mean a lot if you followed back xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

