Reviews

Bookreview: Slated

12743472Kyla’s memory has been erased,

her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist and that they are giving her a second chance – as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

Author: Teri Terry
Page count: 439 pages
Release date: May 3rd 2012

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 2 stars

Slated was a book that left me dissapointed. I had my hopes high up. The plot sounded amazing and the cover is gorgeous. It decieved me. Now I don’t want to sound rude or cocky therefore I will explain why in this blogpost!

“He finds a tissue in his pocket and holds it out. I press it against my lip. Pull it away and look at it. Bright red, though not much of it.
I’ve had worse.
Have I?”

The writing style is problem number one. It is too much tell instead of showing. The writing felt very monotone and so was the main character Kyla. She felt like a Mary Sue. Obviously the main character is special in every book. In this book however she was a little too special to the point it was predictable. Besides she was just plain boring. Every character was plain boring…

The plot itself was pretty interesting. Yes it was predictable at some points but overall the idea was nice. Not everything made sense though. The whole idea of Slating is to give criminals a second change but only if you’re below the age of 16. Now how many criminals are below the age of 16?

“It is one thing to ask questions; what do you do with the answers?”

Onto the next part; The goddamn Levo. The Levo is what kept these slated persons under control. As soon as they show any sign of danger it will shut them down through a chip in the head. Now this Levo warns you whenever your levels are too late. The amount of times I read ”My levo beeped” is insane. I GET THE POINT OKAY? It honestly became very annoying and it also happened at normal moments. Basically it would happen whenever you are watching a sad movie scene and you cry. That is how soon these levels drop! Now there are some ways to get your levo up and Kyla’s way was to run. About 40% of the book exists out of Kyla running.

Now like I have said before I asolutely love the cover. It’s simple, mysterious and the eyes are popping. Eyes have always drawn me.

I hope you now get why I gave this book only 2 stars. I’d not recommend it, yeah maybe to my sister. Perhaps that is the whole problem: I’m too old. This writing style would fit the 12 year old me way better. Have you read this book? If so let me know what you thought about it in the comments!

Love,
Sharon

Leave a Reply

