Reviews

Book review: Melody’s Key

thumbnail_Cover-Melody's Key.jpg“His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.

Author: Dallas Coryell
Release date: June 24th 2016
Page count: 305 pages

x. This book has been sent to me by the lovely author Dallas Coryell. This however, will not sway my opinion in any way. I’d like to thank Dallas Coryell again! x.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 4 starsMelody’s key was a book that actually caught me by surprise. I find most romance stories predictable and I usually don’t feel the chemistry. Yes this book also has the boy meets girl storyline which is cliché, but frankly I didn’t mind, because it was still ejoyable and the lovestory itself was worked out perfectly. Not too fast, not too slow.

What I especially liked about this book were the main characters Tegan and Mason. I really liked both of them. Tegan is a strong, kind, also a little bit of an overthinker but that actually made her more realistic. On to Mason: I actually really liked his character. The way he talked and behaved + he is actually very funny. If a guy is actually funny chances are high that he has won my heart.

“It struck her as tragic that people could be so close to one another, yet so terribly alone at the same time.”

Now their relationship. Like I said, the build up was amazing. I always hate it when two character fall in love immediately. This book fortunately did not have that. Besides their relationship waas very cute and goals as I would like to call it. They were very cheeky together and playful. They could’ve been best friends and I really like relationships on that level: best friends but in a couple way. Do you get what I mean? Probably not haha.

The book doesn’t entirely focus on the relationship which also made me very happy .We also see the bond between Tegan and her family, some problems and Tegans way with music! I’m not going to give further information on all of this because I’d like to keep this review spoiler free.

“There is nothing on this Earth that can make you feel as invincible or as vulnerable as love can.”

It is a fun book and I liked the writing style. If you’re not really into a descriptive wirting style you might want to skip this book, but it didn’t annoy me at all. This book also has a very special feature. The author Dallas Coryell has a youtube account where you can listen to the songs from the books! That is what I like to call dedication!

I only wished this book ended with a bigger explanation. *cough* Simon’s story *cough* For now on this definitely is my favourite Romance book though!

Last but not least I’d like to discuss the cover. It is not a bad cover, It actually is pretty, however I’m not sure if I’d pick it based on the cover. I’m more into the dark covers with either something mysterious or this one colored object. Nevertheless I really like this cover, because it really represents a part of the story with the keyboard.

So if you are looking for a cute contemporary romance with a very likable couple that do not fall in love like a brick from a roof? Oh and you know there is music in it! Then this is definitely a book you should read!

Love,
Sharon

Leave a Reply

