Reviews

Book review: Reigntime

x. This book has been sent to me by the lovely author S.K Levy. This however, will not sway my opinion in any way. I’d like to thank S.K Levy again! x.

Lexie Taylor, a seventeen-year-old student nurse in tropical North Queensland, has

31186710been assigned a new patient and she’s baffled by his odd and uncooperative behaviour. But she finds herself drawn to the enigmatic Myall, who, for the first time since the death of her older brother, reminds Lexie of what it is to be happy.

As Lexie begins to trust him, Myall reveals he is a Reigntime creature—a magical and immortal being from the Awakening—who will die if he remains in hospital. Risking everything, Lexie smuggles him out, and together they travel deep into the dangerous tropics of Kakadu on a mission to locate the key to his survival.

But the dangers that await them will give Lexie a death sentence of her own…

Author: S.K Levy
Release date: July 15th 2016
Page count: 410 pages

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 3.5 starsBefore I am going to start with the actual review I’d just like to point out that the cover is such a soft material. My goodness what is it made of I have never felt a book like that!

Back to the topic. I truly enjoyed Reigntime yet decided to give it 3.5 stars. I’ll explain why in this review. First off I’d like to start with the writing style: I loveee the writing style! It’s funny, realistic and Australian. Yes. I have read about birds that I didn’t even know existed and probably would not want to meet in real life but I loved it. The landscaping was amazing I could literally see it even though I have never been in Australia before. It also made some bits confusing as I am not a native English speaker let along Australian, but that gave a special touch to the book. It felt way more different from the other books.

On to the main character: Lexie. I really liked Lexie, She is very realistic. She is not annoying at all an overall very relatable. I loved that she was quite witty. The way she interacts with people really spoke to me as well. She friendly even though not everyone treats her as right as the should. That points out that she is also very strong because it did not break her. That’s not the only reason why she is strong. She also is a little bit shattered by something else, however she kept going on.

The next character is Myall. For some reason I did not like him. I wish I could explain why but I just cannot. Something about him makes me dislike him. Besides I did not really feel the bond between Myall and Lexie. In my opinion the fell in love too fast, even though it wasn’t fast if you look at the time they have spent to ‘get to know each other.’ I basically missed the chemistry between the two, which was an important part of the plot.

The rest of the plot was okay. The book started of normal and in a humorous way (introducing the Huntsman) and the adventure itself was rather interesting as we got to know about the Reigntime creatures. It is impressive how much work S.K Levy has put into the Reigntime world. She actually invented a language for this book/series! How impressive is that! I really loved that aspect of the book! The ending was not predictable at all, I found some parts to be but the most important part (The ending) was not predictable and that made me very happy!

Last but not least is the cover. Now I’m not going to talk a lot about it because I’d like this review to be spoiler free and yeah the snake might be a spoiler. All I can say is that it fits with the story and it looks gorgeous. I love the simplicity of it and the snake really pops out of the white background! And the font is gorgeous!

If you are looking for an amazing world, with a mixture of a new world and our well-known Australia, an adventure with an unpredictable ending then this is your book! So far I haven’t seen any reviews about lack of chemistry therefore it might just be me so don’t let that stop you. Give this book a try and who knows! I’m very glad that I was able to read it. Thanks a lot again!

Love,
Sharon

Leave a Reply

