Reviews

Book review: Beautiful Creatures

17280346Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Author: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
Page count: 590 pages
Release date: Jan 8th 2013

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor 3 stars

Beautiful Creatures is one of the books that 13 year old me would have loved. However 18 year old me liked it. It was an easy read. The writing style was not really special and some of the dialoges were a little bit childish or aimed at 13 year olds. Yet that does not make this a bad book! I especially liked the ending.

I have seen the movie first, that is what made me want to read this book as I enjoy the movie! The books however is not like the movie at all. The movie is more inspired by the book than actually being the book. The book itself felt a little bit too long. Many parts were dull. It all got way more interesting after about 100 pages.

“Mortals. I envy you. You think you can change things. Stop the universe. Undo what was done long before you came along. You are such beautiful creatures.”

Now the cover. I have bought the movie version as it was in sale due to the bookstore leaving (I still cry everyday) However I do love the orignal cover waaaay more! It’s mysterious, the magic really pops out and I personally think it fits the book. The movie cover is just meh. I rather not see a family picture on the cover, but that might just be me.

The characters were okay. None of them really popped out to me. Lena was a bit annoying at some times, like girl calm down and enjoy your time for now with Ethan okay? Ethan was funny, he was clumsy, I loved some of his thoughts, It made him realistic as everyone has these thoughts they hope no one has heard. He also looked a bit too much down on others, but that did not bother me.

“Darkness can’t drive out darkness only light can do that, Hate can’t drive out hate only love can do that.”

At some points the story does get predictable. I won’t go in details because I want this review to remain spoiler free. Last but not least, I did not feel any chemistry between Ethan and Lena. It just wasn’t there.

Why I gave it 3 stars? Well because like I said, I liked the ending. Since the book was so different than the movie, I did not know what to expect at that point. I was patiently waiting for it to be the same, but then it wasn’t and that was a part of the book that was not predictable. I really liked that part!

I would not necessarily recommend this book, but if you’re interested by the plot you really should check it out!

Love,
Sharon

 

Leave a Reply

